Green Smoothie Diet

Before moving back to Houston, I was living on my own and had become accustomed to eating and living a totally different way than my family, something that most college students go through. I exercised at least 4 days a week and ate a whole lot better, staying away from fast food and unhealthy choices most of time. Moving back home and basically having unlimited access to free food had really set me back on my healthy eating and living. Realizing that I had slipped up on my healthy lifestyle, I challenged myself to a 5 day green smoothie diet as a quick detox and jumpstart back into my healthy habits.

To go along with the smoothie detox, I followed a daily routine that helped me out tremendously. I woke up each morning early, drank a large glass of water, and then set out on a 3 mile run at my neighborhood park. After my run, I did a little bit of strenghtning and conditioning with the Nike Training Club workout app. I then made the smoothie of the day, enough for two large glasses which would be my “brunch” and “dinner.” I then went about my day at work or running errands. Around dinner time, I drank my second smoothie while my family ate scrummptious meals and I would end the night doing ab and butt exercises. Throughout the day I made sure I stayed hydrated by drinking lots of water. This also helped curb my appetite whenever I started to miss food. If I just HAD to eat something or I wouldn’t have made it, my only snack was rice cakes, apples or yogurt with granola. Of course you don’t have to follow this routine and you most likely won’t, but this is what worked for me, my schedule. and my appetite. Also, all of the recipes are rough measurements and all of the fruit I used was frozen first. I tend to eyeball just about how much of what is in each recipe.

Day 1: The Rookie

What you will need:

  • 3 cups of Spinach
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 Celery rib
  • 1 tbsp. of Ginger
  • 1 tbsp. of Chia or Flax seeds
  • Juice of half Lime

IMG_5163

This was my first ever, in life, green smoothie (at least I think it is) and I’m pleased to say that I enjoyed it very much. The ginger was not overpowering like I thought it would be and it wasn’t bad at all. A little chewy, but it was my first stab at it. The flavor of the banana really stood out and made this smoothie less of a shocker. I really couldn’t believe I was drinking spinach.

Day 2: Chunky Monkey

What you will need:

  • Kale
  • 1 Celery rib
  • 1/2 Cucumber
  • 2 tbsp. Ginger
  • 1 Apple
  • Lemon Juice
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 2 tbsp. of Stevia

IMG_5165

I didn’t hate this smoothie, but I certainley didn’t like it…AT ALL. I named it Chunky Monkey because that is what it was, despite all of the blending. I think it may have been the apple skin that turned me off it (but homegirl on Pinterest left it on, so did I). I had to chew through most of it and it also wasn’t all that flavorful. The green smoothie tasted like…well it tasted like a green smoothie and that is what I wanted to avoid. I may try it again but just include a few other ingredients and taking away some others, mainly the apple.

Day 3: Tropical Isle

What you will need:

  • 2 cups of Kale and Spinach mix
  • 1 Tangerine
  • 1 Banana
  • Juice from 1/2 Lemon
  • 1 Mango
  • 1 cup Strawberries
  • 2 cups of ice
  • 1 cup of water
IMG_5176

This smoothie I liked a whole lot. All of the tropical fruits in this one made it very pleasant to drink although there was a mixture of the leafy greens involved. It did have a slightly watery taste because of all ice and water but it still came out pretty good. I will not use as much water the next go around. The skin of the tangerine was tedious to get all of it off so there were a few pieces left in the smoothie accidentally; be aware of that should you decide do this recipe.

Day 4: Pina Colada

What you will need:

  • Kale
  • 1 cup of Coconut Milk
  • 1/2 cup of frozen Pineapple
  • 1 tsp. of Cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp. of Honey

IMG_5180

By far my favorite green smoothie! Tastes just like a pina colada, or maybe I’m just a really good bartender. I already enjoy the flavors of pineapple and coconut so I think this just may have been perfect for me. It was very smooth, light, and made me feel I was on vacation somewhere by a beach. Didn’t know I could like kale so much.

Day 5: Tropical Isle

(See Day 3) I made a little bit too much and had enough for two days. I froze the leftovers from Day 3 and put back in blender with a little water for today.

All of my smoothie recipes were found on Pinterest. There were so many that seemed perfect but these were the ones I decided to experiment with. I will be doing this detox again very soon and will try some other recipes that I may happen to find. Might even create my own green smoothie recipe. I was somewhat pleased with my results from this detox. I lost about 2 inches around my waist, I felt much better and I was able to prove to myself that I could do it no matter how many times I text my best friend to tell her I was giving up and going to Wingstop. Try the green smoothie challenge for yourself and let me know how you do!

Leave a Reply

